GTR Forum banner

Are you OK with a Racing clutch as daily drive

• I am a pro and drive anywhere I want.

Votes: 68 52.7%
  • I am used to it, but don't take the car to the mall

Votes: 37 28.7%
  • I get stressed at every stop.

Votes: 20 15.5%
  • I want back my standard clutch, overkill for me!

Votes: 4 3.1%
1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
6,817 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am wondering how many of you are getting stressed , driving with a quad plate, for example, around the town or on Saturday to the shopping mall with your family.
I personally think Racing clutches are overkill for every day use, sweet on the track, stress like hell on daily stop and go.
A real silly image, showing up in my 120db GTR at the red lights and killing the engine at go . . .:chuckle: :chuckle:

Quad plate is overkill for me.:eek: :nervous: :nervous: :nervous:

·
6,817 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I feel, that I will go for the boy racer in this thread . . .:chuckle: :chuckle:

·
Registered
594 Posts
If you launch it off the limiter at every junction/light etc its no problem at all!!

On a serious note I have an Exedy triple plate and its no pronlem at all, light pedal & doesn't come on strong but will definately hold the power.

·
Registered
2,739 Posts
I've got an Excedy twin plate, and it's perfectly fine for every day driving, and I know that it can handle the current power levels I have, along with my driving style. Well impressed with it, actually.

Steve
Does it make a lot of noise Steve?

·
Registered
2,076 Posts
I've got an ORC twin plate, I've driven quite a few cars with twin plates and the ORC is the worst, (Os Giken probably the best I've driven), but I have no problem driving it anywhere, shopping centres, holiday traffic, town centres etc, the only thing that worries me is it getting too hot or getting excessively worn when I'm crawling along/stop start in traffic jams. The clutch has never stopped me using the car or made me think twice about using it.

Alex B

·
Registered