GTR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
CHARITY TRACK DAY WEEKEND

My name is Keith Watson and I am a serving RAF officer and the organiser of a Track day here at RAF Marham, Norfolk on the 2nd/3rd of September 06. With kind permision from forum adminer 'Peter' I'm extending an invitation to GTR Register members.

The funds raised from the entrance fee will go entirely to the Appeals and Charities supported by RAF Marham, which are the RAF Benevolent Fund, the Ex-Services Mental Welfare Association (combat stress) and, locally to the East Anglian Children's Hospice at Quiddenham.

The track uses a combination of the airfield's main runway and taxiways, which for the benefit of new members and those who couldn't make it before, results in a track that is around 4 miles long of wide, smooth tarmac and concrete with bags of safe run offs - there is ample scope to create everything from sweeping curves to chicanes and there are plenty of curvy bits to add to the challenge. Note that you can enter the corner onto the main runway at approx 80-90 mph so a full top speed run will be possible.

It will run from around midday to 4pm on the Saturday with four 30-minute sessions combined with seperate sessions for motorbikes, and from 9 am to 4pm on the Sunday, with six 30-minute sessions for cars only. All being well, we will probably look to combine later sessions to run longer, open pit lane sessions. As before, all the necessary facilities, such as toilets, catering, drinks, marshalling and medical cover to support the event will be on hand, and the gliding club will be operating for air experience flights.