GTR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
first the reason for this thread -
i have read many things on this site that has very much helped me with lots of things with my car so when i decided to do this i though it would be good to give something back and help and maybe inspire people to do things on there cars themselves insted of paying people to do it for them.

Please i am not a machanic by trade so if you see anything that i have done wrong or could do better or even just a bit of support please feel free, i must add i am doing this as a bit of a long term thing as i dont have a load of money to buy all the parts in one go so i will update a bit at a time

I have had problems with my car for some time now, it has kept pushing oil out of the breathers when driven hard and over tme it has got worse untill one day it just had enough and spat over 1 ltr of oil out of the catch tank all over my tires at 145 mph not good

so thought about my options and decided i would rebuild it myself (well with a bit of help from a couple of friends) reasons for doing it myself

1 - i have always wated to do something like this
2 - i can not afford to pay somebody
3 - the amount people wanted for doing it was unreal
4 - i want to stand back and look at my car when its done and say i rebuilt that as this i think is far better than just handing over a big lump of cash

i have a decent level of mechanical skills but i am not a mechanic, most work i do is on bikes but what the hell i thought i would give it ago

sorry for picture quality

Fist my car -

PICS OF ENGINE COMEING OUT ARE ON ANOTHER CAMERA

the damage -

everything else on the engine is spot on all the other pistons the bearings the crank all look brand new, but there you go it only takes a couplr of tiny bits to brake and the hole thing comes apart