GTR Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I recently brought a manual 4dr R33 GTS4 and after seeing some photos of 4ddr GTR's online I've decided I want to build one. Im gonna start with the engine (RB25DE atm), swapping it out for a RB26DETT. Looking at a couple of options at the moment..

I have found a good deal on an R32 RB26 w/gearbox and was wondering if it would be a simple bolt in to the R33?

Also if I got a R33 RB26 would I need to change the gearbox, as I have heard some people say that you do and some people say you don't...

Any other tips or advice on an GTS4 to GTR conversion would be great help as I'm pretty new to all this. My car is stock standard atm..

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
78 Posts
Since you are in windy wellington, why not put in a 3L bottom end... torque +, might even end up cheaper.
or - just strap a turbo on the side at 0.6 bar (or better yet, a supercharger). And when E85 starts getting plentiful, you could probably up the boost to 1 bar. Speak to your tuner... and take everything I say with a grain of salt (or the saltshaker)

in the R32 the gtr4 and gtr boxes are interfaced identically, and have very minor mechanical differences (a few shafts are smaller, but they aren't the ones that can have issues). So either way, you shouldn't need a new gearbox... but I don't know if the R33 gts4 is the same - I would suppose so, perhaps someone else could confirm.

I have a 4 door '32 gts4 back in aus, and I want to do the same kind of thing as well.

The long shot it you won't have a 4 door GTR unless you have exceedingly deep pockets. But you can have a powerful, fast 4 door 4wd skyline. Just keep everything balanced.

skylinesdownunder or skylinesaustralia may be convinient - right hemisphere.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3