GTR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 242 Posts

·
Premium Member
8,019 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a noob to this subject, so can anyone briefly run me through the options of increased cubic capacity RB26 engines?

I've heard of a 2.8, assume that's just block work producing mainly more torque and spooling equivalent turbos a little quicker?

Heard of a 3.0 but no clue on that...

Any others?

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

·
Premium Member
13,400 Posts
I'm a noob to this subject, so can anyone briefly run me through the options of increased cubic capacity RB26 engines?

I've heard of a 2.8, assume that's just block work producing mainly more torque and spooling equivalent turbos a little quicker?

Heard of a 3.0 but no clue on that...

Any others?

Thanks in advance for any assistance.
I'd delete the bit about 3 litre RB's if I were you as there have been so many Holden RB30 vs OS RB30 threads, and arguments, it's unbelievable.

Fed up with 2.6 litres already?:chuckle:

·
Premium Member
8,019 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'd delete the bit about 3 litre RB's if I were you as there have been so many Holden RB30 vs OS RB30 threads, and arguments, it's unbelievable.

Fed up with 2.6 litres already?:chuckle:
No, happy with my 2.6 thanks.

Was considering something a little more track focused.
Got to be an R32 though.

·
Premium Member
13,400 Posts
Off the top of my head, MGT and RB Motorsports both do 2.8 builds. If you speak to Goghat (got a mint R33) he'll tell you about his 2.8 that RB built. I think it makes about 690bhp.

·
Registered
3,071 Posts
2.8s are nice, power wise, you can get a bit more, but really the extra bit of torque you get is worth it vs the top end. The extra displacement means you can spin up slightly larger turbos a bit better.

Worth the upgrade personally. That with a solid built head and either a good responsive single turbo or stay with twins, and you have a nice track setup.

·
Registered
3,616 Posts