GTR Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
398 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to the skline seen as i ave my r34 only 2 weeks, from my understanding, they should run on higher than 95 octane. Ive done a search here about it but my situation is slightly diff, the remapping ive found info on is about more power, but mine is fairly standard except an intercooler and exhaust, and has standard ecu. So does it mean running the car on 95 octane is bad for it. and if i remap it does it mean i loose power? Any help would be appreciated...

·
Premium Member
1,416 Posts
as far as i know 95ron is a no no it,causes dettonation which is an engine killer,my advise to any one when buying a skyline is get the map checked by a skyline tuner.NOT A( I THINK I.M A SKYLINE EXPERT) this is why you here of so meny people who buy skylines do a few hundred miles then end up having to have a engine rebuild because some so called EXPERT has altered the standard map to run on uk fuel incorrectly.GET THE MAP CHECKED BY A SKYLINE EXPERT BELEAVE ME IT,S MONEY WELL SPENT AND IT WILL GIVE YOU PEACE OF MIND.if your in the north give RB MOTERSPORT a ring or if your in the south give abbey motersport a ring ,you,ll not go wrong with ROD or MARK.i,ve had two skyline maps checked and they were both way out:wavey: NISMOMAN

·
Registered
2,437 Posts
The std ecu should reduce ign advance to keep engine safe but if i were you i would use either tesco 99 ron or Shell V-power asap. Let the current petrol run to bare minimum. I would also contact Tweenierob on this forum and arrange a remap.
I dont know if he can map the std ecu so you may need an aftermarket ecu like a power fc.

Regards

Gez

·
Registered
8,804 Posts
even with 99RON, retarding the ignition map by 2-4 degrees at a minimum is a good idea. This can be done with a strobe light and moving the cam angle sensor (I ***THINK***) anti-clockwise the appropriate amount.

·
Registered
234 Posts