GTR Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

Just fitted my basalt turbo blanket which seems to be good quality and multi layer.

Unfortunately, I have quite a big single turbo that touches the cam cover and had to actually cut a small interaction into the blanket and remove some of the calcium magnesium silicate inner padding so that it would fit but it's quite a neat job.

I went for a drive and after about 10 minutes, there was a burning smell which really concerned me. There are no oil leaks from any of the connections so I am happy that there's no problem here but is it normal for a decent turbo blanket to smoke?

I've read that they smoke initially until they harden up. If this is truly the case, how long does this happen for and is there any damage occurring during this times? I've never used wrapping or blankets before so hopefully I get a noticeable difference in under bonnet temperatures.

·
Registered
3,147 Posts
Nothing to worry about, the blanket will smoke for some time and then it will stop. It's the same with heat wrap it smokes for some time and then it will stop.

You should open your bonnet and let the engine run for some time and it should go away, or take it for a drive and it will smoke then will stop after a few miles.

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
That's good news! Thanks guys. Any reason why they smoke? Some coating material?

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Seems to have stopped smoking after 100ish miles. Has a bit of a strange smell still but under bonnet temperatures are fantastic! The air intake manifold is no longer hot to the touch after a long journey which is great news.

Only concern I get is that the turbo is now holding all that heat in which probably isn't doing the bearings in the turbine too well. Anyone had any problems with things like this?