GTR Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Iridiums £39.95 + £2.50 P+P on Ebay item no 4608823660 is this for real, has anybody used this trader?

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Forgive me for being daft, I'm new to this and have never used iridium plugs before, are the NGK good, bad or what?

·
Registered
936 Posts
Viffer said:
So that means they're ok. Yes:)

No worries there.

The only problem if you want the right spark plug length is that the NGK own brand on goes to a heat rating of 7. This is ok for a lightly modded GTR, but you would most probably need an 8 for a good stage 1/2 modded car. The standard heat rating on a GTR is an NGK 6.

Just in case you do not know, a 7 is colder than a 6.

This would mean either not using quite the right size NGK (which many do and we are talking the insulator length) of go over to Denso's / HKS. HKS S40 = heat range 8 NGK.

Nik W

·
Registered
1,896 Posts
NikWilson said:
but you would most probably need an 8 for a good stage 1/2 modded car
whats one of them LOL

I'm running 7's with 410HP and no probs. Had 6's before and was missing loads

·
Registered
936 Posts
kenan said:
whats one of them LOL

I'm running 7's with 410HP and no probs. Had 6's before and was missing loads
Not sure, only ones I see are 400+BHP! Is there such thing as a lightly modded GTR??????

I was told that for every 80 -100 bhp of extra power over standard, go 1 grade colder. Not sure if this is accurate, or just a rule of thumb.

Nik

·
Banned
1,758 Posts
IQ 20's are not good if your car is tuned, you will find its a hotter plug and could detonate/misfire.

The ideal grade is an 8 for any stage 1 GTR, and works very well.

·
Registered
160 Posts
I once baught Denso iridium's for my previous BMW M3 from this reseller in the UK (I couldn't find what I was looking for here anyway...):

www.spark-plugs.co.uk