GTR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have test driven a stock 09 and would appreciate comments to help me decide if a GT-R is for me.

As background I have been driving an Audi B5 S4 for the last 13 years. It has full Miltek exhaust and remap (did 320bhp/560Nm on the RR - might be less now) plus KW coilovers and Porsche front brakes. I still love the car but it's getting old and I feel it's time for a change. After a fair bit of research I thought that 'on paper' either an Audi TT RS or a GT-R would be a good upgrade.

I won't say much about the TT RS (yes I read some of the 'vs' thread on here) except that right now I can only really compare the GT-R I test drove to the TT RS and my car.

The bottom line is (of course) that I was well impressed with the GT-R - I wanted to just keep driving it for the rest of the day. However I have a few 'niggles' in my mind that I need to resolve:

Road noise: I didn't like this at first. However the radio wasn't on and I usually listen to something when I drive so it shouldn't be an issue. Nevertheless I noticed that the car has Bridgestone Potenzas. Are there any alternative brands that are any quieter?

Exhaust noise: I must be the only petrolhead who doesn't care what my car sounds like, so the 'booming' at very low revs was irritating. I wouldn't want anything much noisier. Are the later MY cars any louder that the 09?

Suspension: I guess it was as I expected but I'm used to firm suspension with my car. I drove in comfort mode a lot, but it only felt slightly softer (and even that could have been my imagination. Is this only very slight difference to be expected? I read that Nissan changed the suspension on a later model - is the difference significant?