GTR Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
can anyone help,is it easy to install new stock turbos into r32 gtr or best to get garage to do,1 of mine has bitten the dust and im changing both to steel cores do i need any special equipment or is it just install and go,: sorry complete novice here :eek: thanx

·
Registered
1,717 Posts
As a novice, I would say take it to a garage.

I have done them on the car, and they are a bicth. No special tools that I can re-call, but its been a while since I have done them.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ok mate i wasnt sure if you had to check the boost or what, didnt think it would be that easy oh well my garage will be much richer now!!thanx

·
Registered
502 Posts
I am in the process of changing mine from R32 turbos to R34 turbos (when I can actually find some!). I have taken the stock ones off and am just waiting for the R34 ones to go back on. I must say it is a major pain in the ass though. I am a complete novice when it comes to engines but I managed to get them off. If I had the money I would pay someone to do it.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
hi mate,i already had quote from garage £1123.00 for both turbos and £450 to fit so not cheap!!!

·
Registered
1,717 Posts
You should be able to find someone cheaper than that. I was thinking around £300-350 should be the going price.

What turbos?

·
Owner of the MSNSPS
5,203 Posts
hi mate,i already had quote from garage £1123.00 for both turbos and £450 to fit so not cheap!!!
If the £1123 is for stock turbos I wouldn't bother. From what I have seen the spangly GT series Garretts can be had for about £1400 (maybe less).

I would haver thought that you could have stockers reworked for a lot less. Was reading SAU and a company there is machining and recoring stock turbos for a lot less. I would imagine a UK firm could do likewise.

·
Registered
1,717 Posts