GTR Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
818 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I've done a search on intercoolers in the formum but not quite found a definitive answer to this one. I've got an R33 GTR soon to be 'tweaked' by Rod Bell to around the 500bhp mark its about 400 at the mo (changing injectors, upping boost slightly, 260 Tomei Poncams, Nismo AFM's etc).

I was thinking of getting either Tomei exhaust manifolds to improve exhaust flow or an uprated intercooler (cant afford both!). It has been suggested that I would see more benefit per £ by getting the intercooler uprated as the Tomeis are only really worth it if you have bigger turbos than std. (ive got std turbos with steel internals and 360° thrusts).

Anyone help?

·
Registered
197 Posts
im no expert but i thought the standard intercooler was ok at that sort of power im running 550fly bhp with standard intercooler

·
Registered
6,560 Posts
If you have to do one or the other, do the exhaust manifolds. the intercooler is fine to well over 500hp

·
Registered
8,804 Posts
your stock intercooler is good for up to 600bhp at least. When Nissan made the GT-R for Group A homologation, certain parts had to be exactly the same on both the road car and the race car. One was the intercooler, which is why the thing is so damn big for a factory IC. One of the others was the exhaust manifold.

Have you done your exhaust completely? 4" downpipes help a lot.

·
Registered
818 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi thanks for the responses,

Kismetcapitan - I have replaced the standard downpipes with HKS ones not completley sure of the diammeter and then have a Trust Power Extreme II exhuast 5inch diammeter i think. Do you think there is their anypoint in doing the manifolds if they were homolgated like the intercooler?

·
Registered
8,804 Posts